University Sections

STLE Toronto Section helps at UOIT

On March 26 at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology in Oshawa our George Staniewski (OPG) gave a presentation on fire resistant steam turbine control fluid degradation for their Research Day and in the evening Jim Arner (Pirr Tribology Solutions) gave a talk on hydraulic fluids for their Students Night. The contact was Professor Atef Mohany, Department of Automotive, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science.

For more details on UOIT STLE activities please contact Prof. Mohany

February Toronto Section Meeting

Our meeting featured Dr. Maureen Hunter from King Industries who gave an interesting talk on the characteristics and opportunities for ‘Alkylated Naphthalenes’. She is also the current President of STLE.

We also had a number of representatives from Ryerson University and the University of Waterloo.

From left to right we have the following;
Marcel Lun (Student Chapter, Ryerson University), Prof Vincent Chan (Ryerson University), Behshad Sabah (Chair and Membership Chair, Senior Technical Advisor – Hollyfrontier, Petro-Canada), Wayne Mackwood (Toronto Section past Chair, Lanexess) and Professor John Medley (University of Waterloo).