About Toronto STLE

STLE is the premier technical society serving the needs of more than 10,000 individuals and 150 companies and organizations that comprise the tribology and lubrication engineering business sector.

Who We Are

STLE members are technical experts who research, develop and market the methods and products that make industry more successful and that enhance the well-being of people worldwide. Our members are employed by the world’s leading corporations and academic institutions and by governmental agencies dealing with science and technology. STLE supports these distinguished men and women with a variety of professional education and certification programs.

The membership of 4000 technical professionals represents men and women working in industry, academic institutions and government throughout the United States, Canada and around the world. In a variety of ways, STLE brings together these managers, engineers, scientists, technicians and craftspeople to learn and share “best practices” associated with the design and operation of modern machinery and equipment.

Vision Statement

To be a leader in the global network of individuals, institutions, societies and corporate entities with a common interest in advancing the science of tribology and the practice of lubrication engineering.

Mission Statement

To advance the science of tribology and the practice of lubrication engineering in order to foster innovation, improve the performance of equipment and products, conserve resources and protect the environment.

Years Chair *Company


Behshad Sabah

HollyFrontier / Petro Canada Lubricant


James Arner



James Arner



Berrt Lublock

Petro Canada Lubricant


Solongo Wilson

Chemtura Canada Co.

2014/2015 Wayne Mackwood Chemtura Canada Co.
2013/2014 Greg Maderak Forsythe Lubrication Associates
2012/2013 Lou DiFlavio Chemtura Canada Co.
2011/2012 Paul Sampson Lubrizol Canada
2010/2011 Wayne Mackwood Chemtura Canada Co.
2009/2010 Kim Krieber Lubrication Engineers
2008/2009 Mauricio Galvez Brenntag Canada Inc.
2007/2008 Ed Milanczak Boss Lubricants
2006/2007 Dave Hermans L.V. Lomas
2005/2006 Chris Barnes Lubrication Engineers
2004/2005 John Kirk Battenfield Grease
2003/2004 Dean Belovari Kluber Lubrication
2002/2003 Wain Dunn Crompton Co.
2001/2002 Ray Norgate HILNOR Lubrication
2000/2001 Wayne Mackwood Crompton Co.


Before the Toronto Section was coined such, we were known as the Ontario Section. Chairs of that Section were:


  • 51/53    T.A. Marshall
  • 53/54    J. Boarse
  • 54/55    R.G. Armstrong
  • 55/56    W.B. Dembner
  • 56/57    J.F. Parker
  • 57/58    C.I.R. McDougall

Our sincere thanks to all these Past Chairs, their Executive and their companies who gave their time and support to help us all.

Toronto Section Past Chairs
(photo taken in 2005 at the Old Mill)

Left to right; Denis Taylor, Jim Arner, Vince Rakchaev, John Kirk, Ted Austin, Wain Dunn and Ken Brown

Photo Gallery