Toronto Section Award

2022 Section Achievement Award

2022 Victor E Joll Award - Dr. George Staniewski

Vic Joll Award Dr. George Staniewski, FSTLE, CLS, OMA I & II, Ontario Power Generation (Retired) STLE Toronto Section (Canada) The Vic Joll Award recognizes outstanding and selfless contributions by a member of an STLE local section. It is given to a section member who has worked tirelessly and continuously for the benefit of the section, devoting numerous hours in the performance of many tasks necessary to promote and advance the mission of the section and of STLE. The award is named in honor of the late Vic Joll, 1978-79 STLE president who championed local sections.

2020 Victor E Joll Award - Mr. Ken Brown

A. B. Platt Award, Toronto Section of the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers

Funded in perpetuity by a capital donation from the Toronto Section of the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE), this prize is awarded annually to the student in the Fourth Year of the Mechanical Engineering program whose work in tribology (friction, wear or lubrication) is considered by the Chair of the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering to be of suitable quality and the most satisfactory.
The award has a value of $100, of which $75 is presented to the student, and $25 to the Department for the purchase of publications on tribology.

2013 - P.M.Ku Award - Dr. George Staniewski

2013 - Victor Joll Award - Mr. James Arner



At the 2019 Annual Meeting in Nashville, the Toronto Section received an Achievement Award. This is to recognize our efforts in promoting the goals of the society and in our encouragement of student members. Congratulations to our Chair Jim Arner, our executive, sponsors and members.